Work and school

So I now only have one job – I’m working at the local CBS affiliate, which also runs a local low-power station. The job with the state didn’t work out. Ok, everyone who knew that was coming, go ahead and raise your hands. 😉

Since I’m down to one job I’ve gone ahead and registered for classes in the spring. I’m HOPING to finish the MA in Liberal Studies this spring. I think it would be really good for me to finish it.

For a number of reasons, I’m also submitting an application to Associated Mennonite Biblical Seminary in Elkhart, Indiana. I would still love to go to Toronto if it could work out, but I’m not sure it’s the best place for me. For one, Toronto is friggin’ expensive in terms of cost of living. Elkhart is very comparable to Evansville. For another, if I go to AMBS my significant other (who might become my other half this summer if things work out) would be able to come with me (if things do work out in that way) because there’s a branch of the college at which she’s studying nursing in Elkhart. That would be pretty nice, to not be separated from my potential wife by hundreds of miles. And finally, and possibly most importantly, I still have strong thoughts that the context of education for ministry might be the best place to pursue further theological education. They’re doing some really great things up in Toronto, and it is conceivable that we might end up there when it comes time to work on my doctorate, but if I get accepted to AMBS and get enough funding to make it work I think I’ll probably go there. The current plan would be to go into the M.Div program, with a concentration in theological studies, theology and ethics. I’m also going to inquire about the possibility of writing a thesis, as my ultimate purpose is to continue in academics as opposed to entering the professional ministry (though I’m open to that plan being changed).

Since I only have one job now, I’m hoping to update this blog with at least one substantial post per week. I’m sorry I’ve neglected it, this has been an excellent outlet for developing my thoughts on a number of issues, and I’ve missed having that avenue to express myself.

Thank you for hanging with me on the journey. Shalom!
Jason

One Response

  1. It’d be great to have you here. This place is becoming a collection point for Christarchists. Though it seems uncertain how much longer Andy and Nekeisha will be sticking around. I think you’ll like it here.

Leave a Reply

