Two quotes from Derek Webb

“There are two great lies that I’ve heard:
‘the day you eat of the fruit of that tree, you will not surely die”
and that Jesus Christ was a white, middle-class republican
and if you wanna be saved you have to learn to be like Him…
My first allegiance is not to a flag, a country, or a man
my first allegiance is not to democracy or blood
it’s to a King & a kingdom.”

and:

” Poverty is so hard to see
when it’s only on your tv and twenty miles across town
where we’re all living so good
that we moved out of Jesus’ neighborhood
where he’s hungry and not feeling so good
from going through our trash
He says, more than just your cash and coin
I want your time, I want your voice
I want the things you just can’t give me.”

4 Responses

  1. Hi, I came to your site because of our shared interest in being a Friend of Missional. I am glad to make your acquaintance and visit your blog. God bless!

  2. “My first allegiance is not to a flag”

    Allegiance to the flag is utterly blasphemous… it wouldn’t be much more heretic if it was “allegiance to the fag” or “allegiance to the fog” or whatever…

    everyday I realize I’m not much more blasphemous than fundamentalists-war mongers

  3. Just to make it clear: I don’t mean to be unrespesctful with LGBT people… is just that “flag” sounds quite similar to “fag”, “fog” and “fig”.

  4. I dig both those songs… and just about everything Derek Webb has released on his solo projects.

Leave a Reply

