personal update

This weekend my brother, a 2nd lieutenant in the U.S. Army, leaves to deploy to Iraq. His specialty is communications, which means he’ll likely be going out with patrols as a radio man – not exactly a “safe” job.

I must confess as to being somewhat conflicted as to how to pray about this – I obviously want to see him come home safely, but at the same time I do not want to fall into the trap of praying for the safety of those who go under the American flag at the expense of those who gather under other banners. I believe Christ calls us to transcend such tribalistic identity-markers.

My usual prayer in such circumstances is to pray not for the safety of particular people, but rather to pray that guns would jam, bombs would fail to explode, that soldiers would lay down arms and walk away from the field, and that people would refuse to engage in this ridiculous business of war any longer. I do pray that for my brother, but I also want him to come back home to us.

Thank you for your prayers and thoughts.

3 Responses

  1. Quite a situation, Jason, but I believe that God knows the true thoughts of your heart as you pray. I don’t think you need to fear that God’s ability to keep your brother safe would come at the expense of others. There’s no wrong or shame in praying for those we care about, even if they are performing actions we cannot support.

    I will keep your family in my prayers.

  2. I think we could pray for protection for everyone (your brother, the other soldiers, people in Iraq, etc) at the same time we pray for people to get conciousness about how dangerous and unjust are the wars.

    greetings

  3. Quite the pickle there. Real life stuff I haven’t had to deal with as a pacfist myself. Very tough.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

