Make Something Day

I’m sure by now a lot of people have at least heard of Adbusters‘ “Buy Nothing Day“, a kind of subversive response to the mayhem that is “Black Friday“, the “official” beginning of the holiday shopping season. The Ecclesia Collective takes that initiative one step further with “Make Something Day“. I really like this idea, I think I’m going to start working on some recordings to make into a CD to give away for Christmas gifts (probably with downloads available).

I especially like this idea because it isn’t just a form of passive resistance (which isn’t the intent of Buy Nothing Day, but unfortunately it’s often taken that way), it’s a pro-active attempt to act in a way that counteracts the consumptive tendencies of our culture and seeks to balance them with not just consuming, but contributing. I think Buy Nothing Day is a great thing and I see Make Something Day as entirely continuous with its intent. I just think there is real value in formulating not only a negative account of things but also a positive account – another way of saying, as I do on my “Anarchy” page, that deconstruction is a precursor to an experience of truth. In this case, it is not enough to argue that the consumptive tendencies of our culture are wrong (deconstruction), we must also seek to replace those practices with new ones (reconstruction).

How appropriate, then, that this (de/re)constructive protest action takes place near the beginning of Advent, a time when we celebrate/reflect upon/re-member the coming of the One who makes all things new.

Related link: Make Affluence History, from Geez Magazine.

3 Responses

  1. Hey Jason,
    Thanks for plugging Make Something Day! You’ve really captured the intention we had. Mix CD’s are a great idea (reminds of the line from Hornby’s High Fidelity on the art of mix tapes). I think I’ll be making a few of those myself on Friday.

  2. High Fidelity… now there’s something I haven’t watched in awhile!

    I’m actually hoping to contribute some of my own stuff to the CDs to break in my recording setup I put together a couple of months ago and haven’t really used yet. If it works out I’ll try to get it uploaded and send y’all the link.

  3. I LOVE the entire concept of this! Will plug it as well, albeit late-notice.

Leave a Reply

